The Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation (IDFPR) issues licenses for professionals to work in Illinois. IDFPR offers licensure for speech-language pathologists (SLP), speech-language pathology assistants (SLPA), and audiologists. Speech-language pathology continuing education sponsors are also licensed through IDFPR. New speech-language pathologist graduates hold a temporary license issued by IDFPR while they complete their clinical fellowship year. For more information, please go to Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology Practice Act. To apply for a license through IDFPR, please visit their website.
Speech-language Pathologists (SLP)
In order to qualify for a license in speech-language pathology, individuals must have received a master’s or doctoral degree in speech pathology from an IDFPR-approved and/or ASHA-accredited program. Additionally, individuals must successfully pass the PRAXIS exam and pay the application fee. Speech-language pathologists must hold a license issued by IDFPR in order to work in any setting with the exception of the school setting. Speech-language pathologists must hold an IDFPR license in order to bill Medicaid and private insurance, supervise an SLPA, SLPP, Clinical Fellow (CF), or SLP Practicum student regardless of the work setting. Speech-language pathologists must complete 20 hours of continuing education every two years (renewal cycle). For more information, please see the IDFPR website.
Click here for the steps to obtain Speech-Language Pathology IDFPR Licensure.
Speech-language Pathologists Assistants (SLPA)
Individuals must complete a two-year IDFPR-approved program in speech-language pathology assisting in order to qualify for a speech-language assistant license. In addition, speech-language pathology assistant candidates must successfully pass the licensure test and pay the application fee. A speech-language pathology assistant license is required in order to work in any setting in the state of Illinois. Speech-language pathologist assistants can work in the school setting, private practice, healthcare settings, and early intervention under the supervision of a licensed speech-language pathologist. Speech-language pathology assistants must complete 10 hours of continuing education every two years (renewal cycle).
Individuals seeking licensure to work in the state of Illinois as an audiologist must have completed a doctoral program from an IDFPR-approved and/or ASHA-accredited program. Additionally, individuals must successfully pass the PRAXIS exam and pay the application fee. A license to practice as an audiologist is required to practice in any setting within the state of Illinois. Audiologists must complete 20 hours of continuing education every two years (renewal cycle). For more information, please see the IDFPR website.
Click here for the steps to obtain Audiology IDFPR Licensure.
Speech-Language Pathology Continuing Education Sponsor
IDFPR provides continuing education licensure to those agencies or organizations that wish to sponsor continuing education events for speech-language pathologists or audiologists. Organizations must pay a $500 application fee. State agencies, state colleges, state universities within Illinois are exempt from this fee. Specific application requirements and compliance requirements can be found at in Section “C.”
IDFPR also provides temporary licenses to new graduates. As with all licenses issued by IDFPR, the applicant must successfully pass the PRAXIS and pay the application fee. Applicants must have successfully passed the PRAXIS to obtain this licensure, so new graduates are encourage to take that test prior completion of the program. New graduates who complete a program in the state of Illinois are encouraged to apply for a temporary license as soon as they graduate New graduates are encourage to apply for this license even if proof of program completion in not yet available. Typically, new graduates hold this license during their Clinical Fellowship Year. This license allows a clinical fellow to bill Medicare. New graduates who are ready to begin their Clinical Fellowship Year, however, do not have a diploma or ED letter from their university can begin work as long as an application for a temporary license has been filed. There is a 120 day grace period in which individuals can work while awaiting the processing of the necessary paperwork. For more information, please see Public Act 094-1082, which outlines the temporary license.